2014 goal-setting

1 Jan

It’s the start of a new year, so it’s an apposite time to review my progress and state my goals for 2014.

I’m hoping that 2014 will be the year that I achieve some elusive PBs, with a 5k PB being at the top of my wish list. Here’s how I did in 2013:

  • 5k: 25:14 (PB: 25:08)
  • 5 mile: 45:16 (PB: 43:21)
  • 10k: 52:02 (PB: 51:06)
  • 10 mile: 87:44 NEW PB!
  • Half marathon: 2:00:46 (PB: 1:52:19)
  • 20 miles: 3:27:03 (PB: 3:02:44)
  • Marathon: 4:29:33 NEW PB!

I started 2013 with a RunBritain handicap of 17.6 (from a low of 17.0); it increased to 20.2 by mid November, however, my current handicap is 19.3. I’d like to run more consistently this year, so that my handicap does not get worse.

So, although the year doesn’t feel like it was very successful, I did achieve two PBs! I also completed a duathlon, two aquathlons and two triathlons, and I ran in 57 races/events:

  • 30 x parkruns
  • 5 x CC6s
  • 9 x RR10s
  • 2 x 5 mile races
  • 3 x 10k
  • 3 x 10 mile
  • 2 x half marathon
  • 1 x 20 miles
  • 2 marathons

I’ve planned up until the end of September, so I think I’ve enough goals to keep me going for some time!

January

  • CC6                                                                                    05/01/14
  • Stubbington 10k                                                              19/01/14

February

  • CC6                                                                                     09/02/14
  • Bramley 20 mile                                                               16/02/14
  • Charlton Duathlon (Andover)                                       23/02/14

March

  • CC6                                                                                       02/03/14
  • Salisbury 10 mile                                                               09/03/14
  • Winchester Duathlon                                                        16/03/14
  • Eastleigh 10k                                                                      23/03/14

April

  • Brighton marathon                                                           06/04/14
  • Wiggle New Forest Spring Sportive (58 miles)     12-13/04/14
  • Good Friday Triathlon (sprint)                                      18/04/14
  • Lymington Triathlon                                                       27/04/14

May

  • Pyrenees triathlon holiday                                      01-08/05/14
  • Portsmouth Duathlon (3)                                               11/05/14
  • Netley 10k                                                                         18/05/14
  • Eastleigh aquathlon                                                       29/05/14

June

  • Wiggle Bournemouth Sportive (48)                            07/06/14
  • D-Day 10k                                                                        08/06/14
  • Big Cove Swim                                                                22/06/14
  • Eastleigh aquathlon                                                      26/06/14
  • Eastleigh Open Water Tri                                           28/06/14

July

  • GU Energy Classic                                                       13/07/14
  • Big Cove Swim                                                             20/07/14
  • Thunder Run                                                          26-27/07/14
  • Eastleigh aquathlon                                                   31/06/14

August

September

  • Challenge Weymouth 70.3                                       14/09/14
  • Eastleigh aquathlon                                                   25/09/14
  • HOWSC 100                                                                28/09/14

I’ve joined a few challenges on Strava – if you also use Strava, please feel free to follow me: http://app.strava.com/athletes/3382889 I’m also hoping that I can promote healthy living more widely, so I’ve applied to become a brand ambassador for a company that means a lot to me – I’ll let you know how that turns out! I’m also going to add a couple more pages to my blog – watch out for them!

My blogging started back in February, just before my 35th birthday, as I wanted to motivate myself to achieve more in life before I turn 40. Has my blog been a success? Well, that depends on how the success of a blog is measured. For what it’s worth, my blog currently has 68 followers. It has had 5488 views and 77 comments. I’m going to be working on improving those stats in 2014, so that my blog has greater reach – I’ll also be trying to post more regularly as I know I was pretty slack in December.

My 10 most viewed posts this year were:

Home page / Archives 2,318
About 282
Should I change my name? 140
HOWSC 100 Sprint triathlon 128
Nutrition 112
Running 104
20 Types of Athletes at an Ironman or any Triathlon #try not to laugh# 101
Swimming 97
I’ve finally got my running mojo back 😀 96
Cycling 87

The posts which generated the most comments were:

Planning for 2014 10
Should I change my name? 10
Fatgirltoironman is here to stay 5
New Forest Marathon 4
Swimming, cycling and running in Cornwall 4
About 4
I chose to add some extra hills to my bike ride! 3
Embrace Sports Algarve Triathlon Holiday – Day 2 3
Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award 3
HOWSC 100 Sprint triathlon 3
Failure to plan is like planning to fail 3

Please do comment on what I write – I love reading your comments and always respond!

I thought it would be interesting to see how I’m doing with the running tips posted by Fit for 365:

  1. Plan – yep, I’m all about the planning!
  2. Be realistic – if I follow my plans, I should be able to get a PB at Brighton marathon and I should be able to complete Challenge Weymouth 70.3, although that’s still a terrifying goal
  3. Be patient – I’ve been as patient as I can be when it comes to running. I don’t think I have unrealistic expectations, but I’m desperate for a 5k PB.
  4. Gait analysis – I’ve had this done before and I’m happy with my running shoes… although I’d love another pair of Brooks Cadence.
  5. Mileage increases – I think my plan gives me a sensible schedule for increasing my mileage.
  6. Warm up and cool down – unfortunately, too often my warm up is just a jog, so I need to work on this. I also need to be really good about stretching when I’ve finished. I’m hoping that I’ll get back to yoga in 2014.
  7. Stretch – see above
  8. Rest – I’m terrible about scheduling in rest days. Maybe I really will manage this in 2014!
  9. Listen to your body – I’ve not had any specific injuries this year (thank goodness), so I don’t know how good I am at this!
  10. Never compare yourself to others – I can’t help being competitive. It’s incredibly frustrating that the women I coach are all improving faster than me, but I think that’s the problem with being a coach. I am going to step back from coaching for two months before my half iron tri as I want to give myself a fair chance.
  11. Enjoy your running – I’ll try!

What are your goals for 2014?

9 Responses to “2014 goal-setting”

  1. fitfor365 01/01/2014 at 5:55 pm #

    Thanks for mentioning my post, good luck with your goals!

    • tamsynsmith 01/01/2014 at 7:20 pm #

      No problem, John – I’ve voted for you in the 2014 blog awards as well 🙂

      • fitfor365 01/01/2014 at 7:21 pm #

        Nice one, I appreciate it! 🙂

      • Loraine 01/01/2014 at 7:51 pm #

        I love reading your blogs. I don’t no how you do everything that you do. My main goal this year is to try and run a marathon. Some days I don’t even think I can. I don’t blame you taking a step back to think about your self for once. You do a fantastic job with the club so don’t take a step to far back will you lol. I love the tips you give us so if you have any marathon tips please feel free to share. Good luck with your cycling and triathlons you are one awesome lady. Keep up the good hard work.

      • tamsynsmith 02/01/2014 at 5:25 pm #

        Thanks, Loraine. I could say the same back to you – I don’t have any children/grandchildren to look after, so when I’m not working, I can do whatever I like 😉 Have you planned out your marathon training schedule yet? I think the most important thing is to find a good group of people to do your long runs with. If you ever have to miss some training, don’t try to catch up by adding onto everything else in your schedule, just move on and do whatever comes next for you 🙂

  2. oli 01/01/2014 at 6:02 pm #

    Go for it!

  3. AndrewGills 01/01/2014 at 11:49 pm #

    Looks like a big year you have planned. Can’t wait to read all about it. I like that you respond to comments … I make a habit of doing the same. Some bloggers don’t bother to respond and I have to admit it sometimes puts me off taking the time to comment. The responses create the community more than the posts do 🙂

    • tamsynsmith 02/01/2014 at 5:30 pm #

      It feels rude (and a little bit arrogant) not to… I usually feel bad if I can see on my phone that someone has commented, but I’m at work and can’t log on and reply. If someone has been kind enough to acknowledge what I’ve written (even if they’re disagreeing with me) then it would be discourteous to ignore that!

      Having read your plans for 2014 (and followed what you did in 2013), I’m definitely going to have a go at an Audax event, and may even try an adventure race 🙂

Leave a comment